maranathamissionteamDR

Mission Teams from Maranatha CRC York heading to the DR with The Samaritan Foundation

getting dirty hands

IMG_0162

Wally Zandberg

I am so glad I took the opportunity to go on this Mission Trip, it was my first.

My concern or fear leading up to this trip was: “How can I make a difference and what would the work look like?” I wanted to get my hands dirty.

I soon learned again that ….. God had his plan and he would work it out in his time, even if it was the eleventh hour.  God sent a man who lived next to the new Rehab center construction site to check out what we were doing, his name is Flavio.  I welcomed him to the site as I shook his hand. He seemed to approve what was going on and it didn’t take long for him to help us. He was carrying blocks and shoveling stone, he seemed to enjoy the comraderie. I had a chance to share with him what this project was all about and the good that would come out of it. I think he liked our example of acceptance, joy, and dedication to the Samaritan Foundation’s mission to build a rehab center. I told Flavio we were Christians and that we were being used by God to accomplish God’s work. I gave Flavio a Bible (Spanish of course) on behalf of Samaritans Foundation. I asked him to pray for understanding of the word and to read it daily.

By the time Thursday came around it was evident to me that we wouldn’t finish the block work and that was hard for me to except.

On Friday I began to understand what God was doing. I was busy in my mind, setting goals.

But it wasn’t just about the physical building, no, it also had to do with relationship building. I believe God connected us to the men in the old Rehab Center to help me understand that it doesn’t matter what the color, race, religion or what you’ve been through. God loves them all, I believe those men could feel the love of God in us as we praised God together and accepted one another in Jesus’ name.

This mission trip was such a great experience for me and I would encourage anyone to pray for the opportunity to be a part of a mission project.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment